Winning the Ivy

A boy looks up in awe at Yale QB Kurt Rawlings

I just looked at my last post and I see that it was made nearly a month ago.  Where has the time gone since then?  For me, much of has been spent at my office, working overtime in the evening and on weekends, too.
So, I have decided that my next post will be something different, harkening back to a time before I began photographing art nudes and before I had done much travel photography.  As an undergraduate student at New York University, I was the sports editor of the school newspaper, the Washington Square News, for a couple of years.  Although I primarily wrote stories about sporting events (and other news, too), I did bring my camera to events to photograph stories myself, even though we had some staff photographers who covered sporting events, too.
Now move forward to this past Saturday – November 11, 2017 – when I drove down to Princeton, New Jersey, to see an Ivy League football match-up between the defending co-champion Princeton Tigers and the team of my other school, the Yale Bulldogs, who were on the verge of winning the title this year.
The game did not get off to a good start for Yale, as Princeton’s high powered offense made some big plays, running up a 24-7 lead in the second quarter.  After that, though, the tide turned, with Yale coming back for a thrilling 35-31 victory to guarantee the Bulldogs at least a share of the Ivy League football championship for the first time since 2006.  (A win over Harvard this coming Saturday in “The Game” will guarantee Yale its first outright Ivy football title since 1980.)
After the game ended, I saw some other Yale supporters jumping down onto the field to join the team, so I decided to follow, and before long the photographer in me began to take over, with my pocket digital camera in hand.  It harkened back to my days photographing sporting events at NYU, though I had never seen a championship celebration like this.  At NYU, I also knew the people who I was photographing, while here, the Yale players were just guys who I had read about or seen on TV.
On the other hand, however, this wasn’t much different than the travel photography that I like to do, put in an unfamiliar situation, with unfamiliar people in front of me, but I still have to go out there to frame as many interesting images as I can and try to find those moments of humanity shared by people that bind us all together.
Here are some of my favorites from this event.
Boola boola.
(To see more images on my Facebook photography page, click here.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

