Florence

The Baptistry, Cathedral and Tower, Florence

I have not made a post for a couple of weeks as I was away  recently on a ten day trip to England.  My schedule was pretty full there:  a five day language class (which I may write about in the future) and three days of doing photography (which I definitely plan to write about).
For now, though, I will continue to post some photos that I made with my pocket digital camera while on my trip to Italy last month.  I’ve already made a post about Rome, so now here are some photos from Florence (Firenze, in Italian) – the great city of art and the Renaissance.
Florence has a very different feel from that of Rome.  The latter is more spread out, with room to roam (sorry about that, folks) and with many antiquities around.  Florence, on the other hand, is much more compact and closed in, with its narrow streets of medieval and Renaissance buildings.
Of course, Florence has some of the greatest art museums in the world, most notably the Uffizi Gallery, but I also went to the lesser known Bargello Museum, which is a great storehouse of sculpture and decorative arts.  My last time in Florence was eight years ago, so it was great to see such iconic paintings like Botticelli’s “La Primavera” and “The Birth of Venus” again.  I have these images as backgrounds for my computer screen, but what a joy it is to see the originals up close!
I should mention that I also saw and photographed what is probably Florence’s best known work of art – the statue of David by Michelangelo – but I will write about that in another blog post that I have planned.

The Cathedral and Giotto’s Tower

 

A locked cabinet on the Ponte Vecchio

 

The medieval Palazzo Vecchio

 

Portrait session at the Piazza della Republicca

 

“Perseus with the Head of Medusa” by Benvenuto Cellini on the outdoor Loggia dei Lanzi

 

Tourists and Fashion

 

At the Baptistry in front of the Cathedral

 

Detail of Botticelli’s “La Primavera” at the Uffizi Gallery

 

“The Birth of Venus” (detail) by Botticelli in the Uffizi Gallery

 

“The Venus of Urbino” by Titian, in the Uffizi Gallery

 

Tuscan sunset near Florence

 

Florence would seem to have its own photographers, too

 

Street Scene

 

Arches and Shadows

 

“Brutus” by Michelangelo at the Bargello Museum

 

Ivory Comb, French School, 14th Century at the Bargello Museum

 

“The Three Graces,” c. 1902 by Societa Ceramica Richard-Ginori, in the Bargello Museum

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Florence

  1. Beautifully done, Dave!

Leave a Reply

