Ten Years After…..And I Can Still Walk!

Today is the tenth anniversary of my getting hit by a car, so I am making this post to remember and celebrate the day.  Why celebrate such a thing?  Well, as the title for this post suggests, I got hit by a car – and I can still walk!
Here is the text from the blog post that I made a couple of days later, writing about what happened:
“As readers of my blog will know, I went to Ohio last weekend to visit my friend Dave Levingston and to work with some models there.  I photographed six figure models there on a total of 28 rolls of film.  I had planned to begin developing that film today, but I must report that any film developing will have to wait.
That’s because I was hit by a car crossing the street Friday morning.  (Yes, I am 100% serious about this.)  The collars of my shirt and jacket were soaked red with the blood coming from my head.  An ambulance came, the paramedics gave me a quick once over, then they restrained me on a stretcher and lifted me up into the ambulance.  The neck restraint was the worst as I felt like it was almost choking me.

The next stop was the emergency room of a local hospital, where they gave me (I suppose) the full treatment – squeezed and poked all over, needles stuck into me, EKG, x-rays, CAT scan, etc.
While I do feel very thankful indeed that I am still alive and kicking after what happened to me (I was, after all, hit by a car), the injuries that I sustained do make it impossible for me to develop film (and to do other important things) at the present time and perhaps for the near future.  Sorry about this, but sometimes life just has a habit of getting in the way.
Or, as John Steinbeck famously wrote, “The best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry.“  (Steinbeck, by the way, got the line from a poem by the Scottish poet Robbie Burns: “The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men gang aft a-gley/ An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain for promised joy.“  I certainly know the part about pain.)
Oh, and by the way, if you’ve ever wondered what it feels like to be hit by a car, take it from me – you don’t want to know!”

The day after I wrote that, I actually returned to the hospital to have the cast on my arm removed.  The accident resulted in one of the fingernails from my left hand being ripped off, so the paramedics took the nail with me to the hospital where it was stitched back on to my finger.  After the cast had been removed, the stitches on my finger were also removed – and that hurt a lot more than getting hit by the car!
To be honest, getting hit by the car didn’t hurt much as I got blindsided and didn’t see it coming.  I was crossing at a green light when all of a sudden, everything became a big blur.  Then I regained my senses and realized that I was lying in the street, bleeding, in pain and with a car stopped next to me, so I had figured out what happened.
The blurry sensation I got no doubt came from the back of my head slamming into the ground, which was evidenced by the blood flowing profusely from the back of my head (though fortunately, I did not need any stitches there).  I was, however, found to have two broken fingers on my left hand.

I was also fortunate in that I was able to go home the same day, and even did it by bus, though I must have looked like hell with my arm in a cast and the back of my jacket all torn and the collar soaked with blood. When I went to my local pharmacy to get my prescription filled, the pharmacist took one look at me and said “What the hell happened to you?!”
Still, there were more visits to the hospital to be made.  The first was when I began to get feelings of vertigo when I would lie down or sit down quickly, so they took another CAT scan of my head and could find nothing inside, which lead them to believe that I had a concussion, which does not show up on such scans.  That was followed by a few months of physical therapy on my broken fingers, as well.
Fortunately, I healed fairly quickly, I suppose, as I was able to go on a two week trip to Tibet in August of that year, just three months later.

***********************************************************************************

Okay, now that I’ve gotten this out of the way, I will return next time with some photos that you will most likely be happy to see.  😉

 

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

