The Garden Gnome

Nude, Iceland, 2014

For today’s post I am taking you back to my 2014 trip to Iceland, and I’m writing about something that I called “the garden gnome.”
For a couple of nights, Nadine, Zoe and I stayed at a hotel, about half an hour’s drive from the town of Kirkjubæjarklaustur in the south, that was basically in the middle of a lava field.  Our room was at the back of the hotel, facing the lava field, and from the room I could see a small hill that was surmounted by a small lava formation.
I started referring to the lava formation as “the garden gnome” because it reminded me of the hats that such gnomes normally seem to wear.  More importantly, I thought it might make an interesting location for some photos.

So, one morning, I set out with Nadine to take a walk in the lava field to make some photographs.  Of course, doing nudes, we had to be on the side of the lava that could not be seen from the hotel.
Here are a couple of those photos.  One of them reminds me of John Travolta doing his disco pose in “Saturday Night Fever,” but I don’t know if that’s what Nadine had in mind.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment