Patricks Court

Patricks Court, Killkenny, Ireland, 2015

Patricks Court, Killkenny, Ireland, 2015

It’s back to my 2015 trip to Ireland, and this time we found ourselves looking at a short alleyway going underneath a building in the very nice town of Killkenny.
I liked the look of the alley, so I made a photograph of it.
As it happened, that picture was the last frame on the roll of film in the camera, so I began to change the film and put in a new one.  While I was doing that, or perhaps just after I had loaded the new roll, a man happened to walk toward me through the alley.

3647_01-killkenny

He saw the camera and seemed interested in what I was doing, so I asked him if he wouldn’t mind going back and posing for some photos at a few spots in the alley as he walked toward me again.  He agreed to do so, which is how I got the photos with the shadowy figure here.
The reason I asked him to go back and walk toward me again is that I often feel that having a human element in a photo makes it more interesting, especially when the figure is not well lit and brings a sense of mystery with it.

3647_02-killkenny

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

