Going Inland in Iceland

Nude, Iceland, 2014

Nude, Iceland, 2014

I’m continuing now with more photos from my trip to Iceland in 2014 with Zoe West and Nadine.
On this occasion, we had ridden north from the south coast, near the town of Vik.  I had seen on the map that there was a road that went north from the main road (the Ring Road) for about nine miles, ending at a campground.
As I was determined to try to get off the beaten path, this road seemed like a good place to do so.  I had a feeling that this would be a rough road, and it was.  The road guide I had, however, indicated that it was passable for all vehicles (rather than only four wheel drives) and thankfully that was the case, too.

3554_06-nadine-and-zoe

I wasn’t sure if I would go the full length of the road, which made its way to higher elevation, but I did, finally ending up at the campground – and just in time, too, as right about the time we got there we were engulfed in a hail storm the likes of which I had never seen before.  We were forced to sit it out inside the car for quite a while, though it was interesting to experience it.
In Iceland, the force of nature is frequently on full display.
The photos I’m posting now were made on the way up to the campground.  The weather was not very cooperative, being cold and windy, but Zoe and Nadine did pretty well, I thought.
I’ll add more photos from this location in another post.

3554_11-nadine-and-zoe

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Inland in Iceland

  1. Pingback: Further Inland in Iceland | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

