The City of the Tribes

Galway, Ireland, 2015

Galway, Ireland, 2015

Galway, Ireland, has been called “The City of the Tribes,” in reference to the 14 merchant families that were once very powerful and prominent there.
This post is not about that part of Galway’s history (though you can read about it here if you’re interested), but I thought it would be a good alternate to simply entitling this post “Galway,” which I have already used for one of my two earlier posts (here and here) about this city on Ireland’s west coast.
I was looking through the photos of my 2015 trip to Ireland and I’ve decided to make posts from this trip not in the order of the trip, but rather something more random so I can post whatever photos may interest me at any particular time.
So, even though I’m made some posts about parts of Ireland I visited after Galway, I’m going back now to the city where I began my trip.
As I wrote in one of the earlier posts, Galway is a pleasant old town and a nice place to spend a few days.  In fact, looking over my photos, I’m sorry that I didn’t photograph more than I did (although I did do so with my pocket digital camera).
So, here’s to Galway – a lovely place to begin a journey around the Emerald Isle.

3624_02-galway-2015

 

3624_03-galway-2015

 

3624_04-galway-2015

 

3624_08-galway-2015

 

3624_10-galway-2015

 

3625_08-galway-2015

 

3626_02-galway-2015

 

3627_04-galway-2015

 

3627_05-galway-2015

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

