The Photographic Nude 2017

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

I just received a message from the LightBox Gallery in Astoria, Oregon, informing me that one of my photos, “Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012,” has been chosen to be included in its upcoming show, The Photographic Nude 2017.  The juror was photographer Kim Weston.
This image was made during my trip to the Canadian Maritime provinces of Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick in 2012 with Erica Jay and Dane St. Clair.   The location was a beach on the east coast of Nova Scotia’s Cape Breton Island.  I made about half a dozen images like this, asking Erica and Dane to run and to jump when I cried out “Jump!!!”  (They did jump, but never at the same time, which is something that I have joked about since then.)
I purposely waited until they were approaching the right edge of the frame as I wanted the photo to look like the beach was trailing behind them.
A number of people have told me that they like this image quite a bit, but this is the first time that it has been chosen for exhibition.  One of my photos won first prize in this competition’s 2015 show (here), but I don’t think they’ve announced the prize winners yet for this exhibit.  Winner or not, it’s nice to have a photo selected to be part of it.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Photographic Nude 2017

  1. jvargas56 says:

    Congratulations Dave. As always, excellent work. I have always loved this image.

  2. Congratulations! Nice to hang with you again 🙂

  3. Pingback: Black & White (& Blue) | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

