The Cliffs

The Cliffs of Moher, Ireland, 2015

The Cliffs of Moher, Ireland, 2015

I hope everybody enjoyed their Thanksgiving Day weekend.  Some of you out there no doubt stuffed yourself with food, and it was with food in mind that I made a post regarding food on that day with a photo from my trip to Ireland last year.
In looking back over my blog, I see that the last post I had made about the Ireland trip was done in September of last year, just a few months after I came home from the trip.  It had been quite some time since I last worked on these Irish photos, but this weekend I did so again and now have more to post.

3628_01-cliffs-of-moher-2015-wp

I’m beginning today with one of the landmarks of the Irish landscape – the Cliffs of Moher.  These steep cliffs on Ireland’s west coast rise as high as 700 feet and feature sheer drops down to the Atlantic Ocean.  When I visited the cliffs on my first trip to Ireland in the 1990’s, there was nothing to prevent people from going right up to the edge – and indeed, people did do that.  I have to think that some of them never came back, as things have changed since then, with a low stone wall put up to try to prevent people from getting too close, though people do climb over.
Photographing something like these cliffs can be difficult if you’re trying to come up with something new and potentially interesting from a visual point of view.  Still, I tried, and I came up with a photograph of a warning sign on the wall showing a man going over the cliff with the actual cliffs in the background, giving a sense of how beautiful but potentially deadly the place is.

3629_04-cliffs-of-moher-2015-wp

On a lighter note, on the earlier trip, my tour group visited a weaving mill close to Dublin.  As our guide – a college student on summer break – took us through the shop, she showed us some mohair sweaters, to which I said, “Ah, like the cliffs.”
“What cliffs?” she replied.
“The Cliffs of Mohair,” said I, to which she responded, “That’s the Cliffs of Moher!,” followed in typical Irish fashion with “Ah, I see we have a wit among us!!!”

3629_02-cliffs-of-moher-2015-wp

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cliffs

  1. Thom Peters says:

    Love the cliffs of Mohair (LOL). So glad you posted these, we’re planning a trip there in 2017. Now we have more sights to see, and me photograph! 😉

Leave a Reply

