Spiders: Close, But No …

nudes-03-jpg
The results of this year’s Black and White Spider Awards were posted online on Saturday.
Last year, one of my art nude photos was awarded an Honorable Mention, so I was hopeful to maintain that status or even get one of the three awards this year.  (See post here.)
The first thing I did was to look at the list of nominees, and I saw that five of the seven art nude photos I had submitted had made that category.  After seeing that, I was very hopeful of success, but those hopes were dashed when I looked at the list of winners and honorable mentions and saw that I was not there.

header-jpg

Once again, having a good number of photos make the last cut before the winners is no guarantee of success.  This happened once before with the annual contest for the French magazine PHOTO, when I saw on the magazine’s website that ten of the twelve photos I entered had made the Finalist category, but not a single one of them had gotten into the magazine, which is what really counts.
When I got the Honorable Mention last year, only two of the six photos I entered in the Nude category were nominated, too.

nudes-01-jpg

nudes-02-jpg

Two other photos that I had submitted, in the “Children of the World” and “Still Life” categories, also were nominated.
So, a step backward this year, but I have to say that of the winning images, a lot of them I would have chosen myself to win. (Others, not so – but that’s the way it often is.)  You can see the full list of nominees and winners by clicking here.
As for PHOTO, I made my submission for the January 2017 issue last week, so now all I can do is wait and hope.

little-cowboy-jpg

colossal-foot-jpg

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

