Three Weeks in China

Imperial Palace, Beijing, 2016

Imperial Palace, Beijing, 2016

I returned home from a three week trip to China last Sunday, which explains my lack of recent blogging activity, and I have been trying to recover ever since from the jet lag.  I went back to work on Tuesday, and every night since then (and before) I have been falling asleep sitting on the sofa watching TV.  (Having hurt my back on Monday didn’t help, either, nor has the fact that my three weeks worth of mail held at the post office has still not been delivered to me.)
As for China, it has changed tremendously since my first visit there in 1989, which was a grand tour lasting 24 days and one of the most interesting trips that I have ever taken.  (I really do need to get to scanning those photos to show to people.)
Back then, China was in a relatively early stage of its becoming a country more open to the world and adopting a western style of commerce.  Now, 27 years later, there are skyscrapers galore in every city – with new ones going up by the dozens in between.  Back in 1989, the shelves of the stores held items that were functional and rudimentary, at best.  Now, seeing stores selling luxury goods like Gucci, Prada and Rolex – even Ferrari and Maserati – is routine.
As it is, such new things really don’t interest me photographically, so I concentrated on finding vestiges of old China, plus those odd and quirky things which appeal to me visually.
Imperial Palace, Beijing, 2016

Imperial Palace, Beijing, 2016

Overall, it was a very interesting trip, especially as I’m someone who can compare the old with the new.
The other thing to mention is that China can get very hot in the summer.  I knew this before the trip began, but somehow that didn’t quite prepare me for the fact that at times it felt hotter than hell, with temperatures in the 90’s F most days, and some days getting over 100, too.
I have already begun to get my black & white medium format film developed, but I am going to begin (as I usually do following a trip) by posting some of the color snapshots that I made with my pocket digital camera.  Today I’m only posting photos from the first half of the trip, in and around the cities of Beijing, Xian and Chengdu, as I have a lot of photos to post but also because I have some problems with the photos from the second half of the trip (which I will explain another time).
For now, please enjoy these photos.
Temple of Heaven, Beijing, 2016

Temple of Heaven, Beijing, 2016

 

"Electricity! Look Out!," Beijing, 2016

“Electricity! Look Out!,” Beijing, 2016

 

The author at the Great Wall, 2016

The author at the Great Wall, 2016

 

Temple of Confucius, Beijing, 2016

Temple of Confucius, Beijing, 2016

 

Summer Palace, Beijing, 2016

Summer Palace, Beijing, 2016

 

Santa Gnome, Beijing, 2016

Santa Gnome, Beijing, 2016

 

Sign, Xian, 2016

Sign, Xian, 2016

 

Terra Cotta Warriors in the Shaanxi Museum, Xian, 2016

Terra Cotta Warriors in the Shaanxi Museum, Xian, 2016

 

City Wall, Xian, 2016

City Wall, Xian, 2016

 

Hui Market, Xian, 2016

Hui Market, Xian, 2016

 

Terra Cotta Warriors in situ, Xian, 2016

Terra Cotta Warriors in situ, Xian, 2016

 

Tang Dynasty Show, Xian, 2016

Tang Dynasty Show, Xian, 2016

 

Tang Dynasty Show, Xian, 2016

Tang Dynasty Show, Xian, 2016

 

Figure in Buddhist Temple, Chengdu, 2016

Figure in Buddhist Temple, Chengdu, 2016

 

Striking a Pose, Chengdu, 2016

Striking a Pose, Chengdu, 2016

 

Restaurant, Chengdu, 2016

Restaurant, Chengdu, 2016

 

Outdoor Card Game, Chengdu, 2016

Outdoor Card Game, Chengdu, 2016

 

Carts, Chengdu, 2016

Carts, Chengdu, 2016

 

Pepsi Sign, Chengdu, 2016

Pepsi Sign, Chengdu, 2016

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Three Weeks in China

  1. gordon h muir says:

    fantastic pictures dave, you must have had a wonderful time

  2. Conrad Conero says:

    Nice work as usual, Dave. Do you mind if I ask you a question? I’ve been using a Nikon D40 for a number of years now but find it’s a little too bulky for daily routine trips. What pocket digital camera are you using? I like the quality of the photos and would consider getting one of those myself for daily use. Thanks.
    Conrad Coneroi

    • Dave Rudin says:

      Not at all, Conrad – and thank you. I use a Canon S90 small digital camera, but it is several years old. I think that Canon may be up to the S120 now. The S90 works well enough for me.

      Good luck.

      Dave

Leave a Reply

