Avoiding the Crowds

Nude, Iceland, 2014

Nude, Iceland, 2014

It’s been a month and a half since I posted any new photos from my trips to Iceland in 2013 and 2014, so I guess I’m due to write one.
That 2013 trip to Iceland was not the most successful photography expedition I’ve ever gone on, but it was instrumental in the greater success of the 2014 trip.  One of the negative elements of the earlier trip was the weather, as it was the coldest summer in memory according to many of the Icelanders that I met.  Still, as the saying goes, we can talk about the weather, but there’s nothing we can do about it.

3551_02 - Zoe

On the other hand, planning where to go on a trip is something we can definitely do something about.  The trip in 2013 was my first trip back to Iceland since 1995, so in many ways I acted like a tourist, going to places well on the beaten path that I had seen before and wanted to see and photograph again.  To be sure, these are great places to visit, but a lot of other people go to see them, too, which makes art nude photography rather difficult to do there.
One of my goals, therefore, for the 2014 trip was to find good locations for photography off the beaten path.  This I did by reading books, of course, but also by finding places not written about in books but only found by searching on the internet as well as by communicating with local people.

3551_05 - Zoe

One of the most popular – and spectacular – places that I visited on the earlier trip was the Skogafoss waterfall, by the town of Skogar.  I got a really good photo here in 2013 of one of my models, Aubrey, standing in front of the fall, appearing minuscule next to it. (See below.)  In fact, it may be my best photo from that trip.
Still, photographing nudes here would be very difficult due to the crowds, and even very early in the morning might be tough because there’s a campground right next to the fall.
On the other hand, Skogafoss may be the best known waterfall near Skogar, but it’s not the only one.  Through my research, I found out about another waterfall not too far from the town that almost nobody goes to.  There are reasons for this, in that you can’t just drive up to it, which makes a hike necessary, and on that hike there’s a section where you’ve got to scramble up a trail made of loose rocks that has you walking on the edge of a precipice, which caused me to take off my back pack and hand carry it at one point.

3550_11 - Zoe

However, getting there is not overly difficult, and when you go get there…..well, it is a spectacular waterfall in its own right.  It’s not as big as the more famous Skogafoss, but it has a drama of its own and on the two occasions when I went there, absolutely nobody else was around, even though it was around midday.
On the first occasion, Zoe West accompanied me, so here are some photos of her with the waterfall serving as a dramatic backdrop.
Aubrey at Skogafoss, 2013

Aubrey at Skogafoss, 2013

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

