Overcoming Inertia

IMG_4849wp
I walked 40 flights of steps here in my building yesterday.  That’s five flights of steps, up and down, eight times.  It’s the third time that I did it this week.  Last week, I walked 35 flights of steps three times.
If you’re wondering why I would do such a thing, the answer is easy: exercise.  In addition to physical fitness being a good thing, I am also hoping to do some “adventure travel” this summer and I want to get back into shape so that I can handle the physical aspects of it.
(Toward that end, I’ve also been cutting down to lose weight, and since early last month, I’ve lost eight pounds so far.)

IMG_4841wp

The last time that I exercised by walking the steps was probably last summer.  Why nothing since then?  Well, the fall is a very busy time at work for me, and it’s hard to maintain an exercise schedule when you’re working late during the week and working on weekends, too.   Then came winter, which had me feeling under the weather, so I decided to wait until I felt better (which I now do).
There was, however, another factor involved:  inertia.  One definition I found for this word is “the resistance of any physical object to any change in its state of motion.”  Another is “a tendency to do nothing or to remain unchanged.”  In other words, inertia is the principle of continuing to do nothing when one is doing nothing.  It’s a difficult force to overcome.
As I like to say, sometimes when you want to do something, the hardest part is to just get started. After that, once you’re moving, inertia can actually help you to keep moving.

IMG_4843wp

I’m writing this not just in reference to my exercising but also in regard to this blog.  I see that I have not made a post in over a month.  Yes, I have been busy during that time – trying to clean up my apartment, trying to plan my summer travels, trying to get my income tax done, etc.  Still, inertia has been a part of it, too, as once you begin to not make blog posts, it can be difficult to get back to doing it again.  The longer you go without doing it, the harder it is to start again.
So, I am hoping that I can continue to make blog posts on a regular basis of at least once a week, just as I have continued to walk the steps these past two weeks.
So, what is there to write about?  Well, a few weeks ago, I stopped at the Barnes and Noble near my office and saw that the annual contest issue of PHOTO (France) had finally reached its way to the shelf.  In the past few years, this issue of the magazine usually first reached the US around mid-March, so I was happy to see that it had arrived a few weeks earlier this year.

IMG_4851wp.jpg

As I wrote previously (here), one of my photographs has been printed in this issue – the third year in a row for me and the eighth time overall since my first publication in 1999.  I had hoped that this year’s photo might be printed on half a page, as it would lose part of its relevance by being printed small, but small it is at one-eighth of a page.  (I showed the magazine to a friend who works at a major photo gallery here in New York.  He said that my photo should have gotten half a page, instead of the two crappy photos that were given half a page opposite it.)
Still, I’m glad it was chosen to be printed, and I’m glad that my good friend Dave Levingston has one of his photos included, too.
Otherwise, I can write about books.

IMG_4855wp

First, one of the things I did in cleaning up my apartment was to get shelves for my photo and art book collection. The night that I returned home from my photography road trip to the Canadian maritime provinces in 2012, sometime during the wee hours, the metal shelves that held a good portion of my book collection collapsed. Since then, the books were piled up in three stacks several feet high, with boxes of slide trays atop them, which made the books impossible to look at.
Now, at long last, I once again can.
In other book news, I made a post recently (here) about a book of my color photos of Asia that I had published via Blurb.  One of the reasons I did this was learn how to use the Blurb bookmaking program, so I could more easily create a 20 year retrospective of my art nude photography.

IMG_4874wp

I have not done this yet, but I have made a step in that direction by putting together such a book with MyPublisher.  I did it because I’ve heard good things about the quality of MyPublisher’s books and because I received a limited time offer for a substantial price reduction.  I basically had to spend the better part of the weekend working on it a few weeks ago, but the end result is a really beautiful looking book.
Unfortunately, MyPublisher does not have a store to sell books online the way Blurb does, so this 11 x 15 inch book was basically made for me to show to people, but I have ordered some extra copies.  As it happens, a friend should be coming over in a few days to look at it to perhaps buy a copy, so let’s see.  Quite honestly, I haven’t seen any Blurb books with pages that look as good as the ones in this book, so if anyone else may be interested in getting a copy of this version, you can write to me at daverudin1@verizon.net.

IMG_4857wp

IMG_4858wp

IMG_4861wp

IMG_4864wp.jpg

IMG_4870wp

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overcoming Inertia

  1. Good to hear that you are moving, keep it up. Best of luck on the book.

Leave a Reply

