New Book: “A View to the East”

 A View to the East cover
I just published my first book.
This is something that I had been thinking about for some time, and my first self-published volume is called “A View to the East:  Color Photographs of East Asia.”  I had finished working on it and uploaded it to Blurb about a week and a half ago, but I wanted to actually get a copy of it myself so I could look it over before I made any kind of announcement about it.  Having said that, my copy arrived today, and other than one small error to correct (a wrong date), the book looks good to me.  I hope that everyone reading this will take a look at it (and, of course, consider buying a copy) here:
http://www.blurb.com/b/6879528-a-view-to-the-east
So, why this book and why now?
I’ve seen other people self-publishing books, of course, and I knew that I wanted to do something like this, too. I was just waiting for the proper time to do so.  The first book that I wanted to publish was one of my art nude photography.  I’ve seen that some photographers have published books of the nudes that they’ve photographed in just a single year.  That’s not what I had in mind.  I was waiting for something bigger – a 20 year retrospective!
Followers of this blog will know that I celebrated that anniversary last summer, so I’ve certainly put in the time to publish a volume of my nudes.  Unlike my travel photography, which still has lots of lots of images waiting to be scanned, the figure work is mostly ready to go.  So, why not a book of nudes?
Well, 20 years is a lot of time, and I want to take my time to go over that 20 years of work to decide which photos – and how many – to include in such a volume.
More immediately, though, I had never published a book with Blurb before, so I had told myself earlier that I would acquaint myself with the process first by putting together a small book of my color photographs of Asia.  (Oh, and Blurb just happened to have a 35% off sale on books that people authored themselves, so I wanted to take advantage of that, too.)
Regarding the book itself, it’s in Blurb’s small format, which is 7 x 7 inches, and it contains 100 photographs that I made in Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and Tibet between 2005 and 2011.   So, do please take a look.  I’ve set up the page on Blurb so that the entire book can be previewed.
Finally, as for the price…..well, like all other self-published books, it is not inexpensive.  The hard cover version with the dust jacket is $61.95 and hardbound version with the ImageWrap cover is $62.95, but the soft cover version is only $49.95.  The great majority of that goes to Blurb, as I’m keeping the profit margin low to try to keep the price down.  The good news is that Blurb does occasionally have sales, so you should look for those and I’ll mention them when I see them.  (There’s even a 20% off sale ending tonight but sadly it’s only for books that one has authored oneself.)
As for the 20 year art nude retrospective, I’m already thinking of it.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

