2015: What a Long, Strange Trip It Was

Woodstock

Woodstock

It’s been several weeks since my last post.  These long gaps between posts are never planned or anticipated, but they happen nonetheless.  I’d been working a lot of overtime recently, which lead to the double whammy of not being home that much and feeling tired when I was.  The overtime has ended, but I’m still trying to catch up with things here like cleaning up my apartment, matting photographs, etc.
I had initially planned to scan some photos from my trips to Asia for my next post, but as it was getting closer to the end of the year, I thought I’d just write a year-end posting (as I used to do each year) which has, of course, turned into a year-beginning post.
So, what was 2015 like for my photography?  Well, the truth be told, I am a photographer who rarely ever picks up his camera.  I guess there are some photographers who feel the need to photograph on a regular basis.  I am not one of them (though I sometimes would like to photograph more often).
This year, I only photographed on three occasions – but I will get to that a bit later.
Rebecca in Iceland (In PHOTO)

Rebecca in Iceland (In PHOTO)

The year began on a positive note in January when I found out that one of my photos had been published in the annual contest issue of PHOTO (France) magazine.  This was the second year in a row that I’d gotten one of my photos in the magazine, and the seventh time overall.
The photograph was one of model Rebecca Tun in the iceberg filled waters of the Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon in Iceland in 2014.
The Juror's 1st Award

The Juror’s 1st Award

More good news came the following month, when I found out that another of my photos, “Nude, Nevada, 2006, #1”, with Carlotta Champagne, was awarded the Juror’s 1st Award – the top prize! – in the annual Photographic Nude jurored show at the LightBox Gallery in Astoria, Oregon.  This was a great honor, as there were a lot of very fine photographs selected for this exhibition, so being chosen as number one was special.
As for actually doing some new photography, the first – and the briefest – came in April, when Nadine Stevens was in New York and I shot three rolls of 120 film with her.
Nadine

Nadine

After that, the next two photo ventures were a bit more substantial, the first of which was a trip to Ireland in July.   My last lengthy travel photo trip to a foreign country was a trip to Vietnam in 2011, so it was good to once again by making some photos that didn’t include nude models in them.
Fat Tony's, Galway, Ireland, 2015

Fat Tony’s, Galway, Ireland, 2015

Still, the idea of photographing nudes was the primary theme for me this year, as August 2015 saw the 20th anniversary of my first art nude photographs.  When I began doing that 20 years ago, at a workshop in Woodstock, New York,  I had no idea that I would still be doing it so many years later, so for several years I had been planning a celebration with as many models as I could get together.
Believe it or not, it actually happened, as I got together with my good friend Dave Levingston and nine models for three days, including a trip back to the place where I had made those first photos 20 years earlier to the day.
Woodstock

Woodstock

The photography didn’t end after three days at Woodstock, as Dave L and I both had work accepted into the “Reveal” jurored show at the Darkroom Gallery in Essex Junction, Vermont.  We decided to drive up to Vermont for the opening reception, accompanied by model Blueriver Dream, who we photographed one morning and then along with Kelsey Dylan in the afternoon.
My print (on the right) at the Darkroom Gallery in Vermont

My print (on the right) at the Darkroom Gallery in Vermont

Blueriver Dream in Vermont

Blueriver Dream in Vermont

That was all of my photography for the year.   As it is, that was enough, as I still owed a lot of prints to a number of people coming into 2015, and I have even more now with all of the prints I need to make and send out from the Woodstock event.
The last piece of photographic news I got was in November, when I found out that another photo of Rebecca in Iceland – this one at the Fjaðrárgljúfur canyon – was awarded an Honorable Mention in the year’s Black & White Spider Awards competition.
Honorable Mention in the B&W Spider Awards

Honorable Mention in the B&W Spider Awards

So, that was it – a year when the camera was idle for most of the time, with a couple of major bursts of activity in the summer.  That’s  just the way it is with me these days.
So, what lies ahead in 2016?  Well, I have one trip planned for the springtime, though it will be more of a cultural rather than a photographic focus.  I am planning a photographic venture in the summer,  but I am only in the early phases of planning for it.
As for creating photographs outside of big trips, it’s something I’ve been thinking about, as well, but if anything happens in that regard it remains to be seen.
For now, have a happy and healthy new year, everyone!

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

