Honorably Mentioned

BWSpider Hon Ment 2015

This past weekend was the first one in four that I didn’t go away somewhere.  For the previous weekend, I was at the “L.I. Who 3” convention for Doctor Who fans.  The weekend before that I made a day trip to Philadelphia to attend the Photo Review benefit photo auction, driving down there in mid-afternoon and returning home very late at night.  Before that, I spent several days visiting family in Nevada.
So, the most recent weekend was one to stay local and try to catch up with things here at home, though I did go into my office on Sunday to work some overtime.
Saturday was the key day, however, as the winners of the annual Black & White Spider Awards for monochrome photography were announced.  I had entered a dozen photos in several different categories for last year’s competition, with four being selected as nominees, but nothing beyond that.

BWSpider Nominee 2015

For this year, I entered only half a dozen, all of them nudes.  I had wondered when the winners would be announced, so I looked it up earlier this month, but on Saturday, I had totally forgotten that they would be announced on Saturday.  I only remembered when I got an e-mail telling me about it – but that was on Sunday!
So, I missed seeing the live online reveal, but when I did finally look, I saw that two of my six photos had been selected as nominees.  Then when I looked at the winners’ page, I was pleasantly surprised to see that one of them had gotten an honorable mention.
So, I was not among the three winners, but at least it’s a step in the right direction.  I think I counted 67 nominees in the amateur nude category, with three winners and 13 honorable mentions.  Of course, I don’t know how many total submissions were made to the category, but I imagine I will get an e-mail in the next few days that may say something.

BWSpider Nominee 2015 b

By the way, the honorably mentioned photograph depicts model Rebecca Tun at Fjaðrárgljúfur canyon in Iceland during my trip there last year.  (Another of my photos of Rebecca was also published in PHOTO [France] magazine earlier this year.)  The other nominated photograph was made during a workshop in southern Colorado in 2001.
To see all of the nominated images in the art nude-amateur category, click here.  To see the winners, click here.
To see all of the nominated and winning images (including the professional nude category, won this year by Gary Breckheimer), click here.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Honorably Mentioned

  1. Conrad Conero says:

    Congratulations on your honorable mention. Your work deserves this accolade.

  2. Pingback: Spiders: Close, But No … | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

