Galway

Galway, Ireland, 2015

Galway, Ireland, 2015

It’s been a while since I made a blog post, so it’s time that I ended my state of reverie over my 20th anniversary celebration and returned to the regular world of blogging.
(On the other hand, I am still trying to recover physically from that trip a few weeks ago which gave me a twisted and banged up right knee and two banged up shins and lead me on a trip to the emergency room a couple of weeks ago. A visit to the orthopedist may still be in order, too.)

3624_07 - Galway 2015

Before I’ll have the film from last month developed, I first need to take care of the film from my trip to Ireland in June and July, and I am happy to report that I have begun to have that done.
The pictures I’m posting now are from my first stop in Ireland – the city of Galway on the west coast.  On my first visit to Ireland over 20 years ago, we just passed through the city on the bus so I only got a glimpse of it.  It was nice, then, to be able to see the city in more depth this time, and it is a pleasant place to spend a few days.

3624_06 - Galway 2015

As for photographing in Ireland, I find myself photographing different things when I’m in different places.  In Japan, for example, the Japanese sense of architecture and style is so different and unique that I concentrate on that.  In the rest of Asia, I concentrate a lot on the people.
In Europe, though, things look a lot like they do here at home in the United States, so I tend to concentrate more on unusual details and things of interest, rather than large views of scenes.  Here are a few examples.

3625_01 - Galway 2015

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Galway

  1. Pingback: The City of the Tribes | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

