More from Iceland

Nude, Iceland, 2013

Nude, Iceland, 2013

It’s been a while since I posted a regular blog post simply featuring my photographs and not writing about another topic.  This post will hopefully be the beginning of getting back to doing that again on a regular basis.
The last post I made of my art nude photographs featured Aubrey on the western end of the Iceland’s Snaefellsnes peninsula, and so we return to Snaefellsnes for today photos.  These were made later on the same day as the ones in my earlier post.
As I think I’ve written before, the weather during this trip to Iceland in the summer of 2013 was pretty bad for nude modeling. As many people there told me, it was the coldest summer in memory.  The problem, though, is not just the cold, as the wind there can be pretty fierce, too.  (Someone told me a joke that goes like this:  how do you tell who in a rainstorm comes from Iceland?  It’s the person not carrying an umbrella – as the wind is often so bad in Iceland that umbrellas are useless.)

3463_6 - Aubrey

For these photos, I tried to find a location that was shielded from the wind.  I drove with Aubrey along a rough road to a fairly isolated area, and after parking the car, we walked a short distance until we found a depression in the ground.  It looked as though this spot might not be subject to a lot of wind, given its relatively low location, so we chose to work there. The spot did turn out to be relatively free from the wind, so much so that Aubrey told me that she didn’t need to bundle up while I was changing film, which was a rarity (if not unique) on this trip.  You can see one of those photos at the top here.

3463_5 - Aubrey

After working in this location, we went back to the Berserkjahraun lava field, which I have written about before.  Once again, I chose a spot that was a depression of sorts, but even here the wind was an issue, as you can see from the photo showing Aubrey’s long hair being blown about.  There was no changing film here, as one roll was all that the elements would allow, and I credit Aubrey for allowing me to get that one.

3464_2 - Aubrey

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

