Back to Snaefellsnes

Nude, Iceland, 2013

Nude, Iceland, 2013

I still have not finished posting (or even scanning) all of the good photos from my trip to Iceland in 2013, and I see that the last time I made a post with them was in late September of last year.  I hadn’t planned to go that long without continuing the series, but somehow that is what’s happened.
Well, what’s done is done (or, in this case, not done), so all I can do is pick up with it now.
In my last post (here), I showed some photos of Brooke Lynne on a rocky beach on the western part of the Snaefellsnes peninsula.  Today I will continue that with a few photos of Aubrey in the same location.  The difference with some of these photos is that the cold waters of the Atlantic Ocean are visible in the background.
As I noted in my earlier post, the weather was very cold and windy that morning, and I have to once again give all the credit to Aubrey and Brooke for posing in such difficult conditions.

3459_7 - Aubrey

My primary camera is a Pentax 67 SLR, and almost all of my photos are made with that, but these photos of Aubrey were made with my backup medium format camera, a Fuji GW670 rangefinder.  I had loaded a roll of 120 film into the Pentax and a roll of 120 into the Fuji, thinking that I could get twenty photos of the two models together (ten frames on each roll) without stopping to reload, but it was so cold that, at the models’ request, I only did one roll of each.
While a fixed lens camera like the Fuji may not be as versatile a tool as an interchangeable lens camera, it is nonetheless a very fine camera with a very good lens and I am happy with the results.  Again, though, most of the credit for the success of these photos must go to Aubrey.

3460_3 - Aubrey

 

3459_8 - Aubrey

 

 

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Snaefellsnes

  1. Pingback: More from Iceland | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

