The Juror’s 1st Award

LightBox 02 - Photographic Nude 2015
I was away visiting family last week, so unfortunately I was unable to make a post then.  I had hoped to prepare one before I left, but I just had too many things to do before I went away.
Still, last week did bring some good news.  In fact, it was very good news.  I made a post last month which included mention of one of my photos having been selected for The Photographic Nude 2015 exhibition at the LightBox Photographic Gallery in Astoria, Oregon.
Well, I found out last week that the juror, Robert Gojevic – founder and editor of online BLUR magazine – had selected my photograph for the Juror’s 1st Award, which is to say, the top prize in the show!  (Thank you, Mr. Gojevic!!!)  I wrote last time that one of my photos from last year’s trip to Iceland had just been published in PHOTO France, so I guess I’ve been on a little bit of a roll lately.
Thus, as you can imagine, I’ve been feeling a little like I’m on Cloud 9.  I think the last time that one of my photographs had won first prize in a competition was back in 1998, when a color photo from Iceland won first prize in its category in the Santa Fe Center for Visual Arts’ “Assignment: Earth” competition.
Since then, I’ve been happy just to have my photos selected to be in juried shows that I’ve entered.  Winning the top award, like winning the lottery, seemed reserved for someone else, so it felt a bit unreal to find out that one of my photos had actually finished first.
On the other hand, I can’t say that I’m totally surprised that this particular image, “Nude, Nevada, 2006, #1,” with model Carlotta Champagne, is the first winner in a long while.  It’s been one of my more popular images when I’ve posted it online.  It received a Daily Deviation award when I first posted it on Deviant Art, and it received a two page spread in the premiere issue of Carrie Leigh’s NUDE magazine.
Nude, Nevada, 2006

Nude, Nevada, 2006, #1

Still, that’s never guaranteed success elsewhere.  During the six years that I failed to get a photo published in PHOTO France’s contest issue, I submitted this image to no avail.  I entered it in the Black & White Spider Awards last year and the best it could get was a nomination, along with many other photos.  I’ve also submitted it to a number of other gallery shows without it getting selected.
So, I guess I should enjoy this success for what it is, as there’s no way of knowing when – or if – one of my photos will finish first again.
Of course, I should also congratulate all of the other photographers, including my good friend Dave Levingston, whose fine work is included in the exhibition.  Just to be included at all in a show of this quality is an honor in and of itself, prizes notwithstanding.
Regarding those other photos, you can see them all on the gallery’s website by clicking here.  I’m also posting some photos of the artwork on the wall at the gallery, taken from the gallery’s Facebook page.  It looks like a very nice exhibit to see in person and I’m sorry that I couldn’t be at the opening reception myself.
For those of you who are or will be in Oregon, the exhibit will be up through April 5.

LightBox - Photographic Nude pics on wall 03

My photo is second from the right.  Perhaps that's an award tag beneath it.

My photo is second from the right. Perhaps that’s an award tag beneath it.

Dave Levingston's print is second from the left.

Dave Levingston’s print is second from the left.

LightBox - Photographic Nude pics on wall 04

LightBox - Photographic Nude pics on wall 05

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Juror’s 1st Award

  1. Pingback: The Photographic Nude 2017 | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

