Back to Japan

Mount Fuji, Japan, 2010

Mount Fuji, Japan, 2010

Now that I’ve finished working overtime, I can get back to doing other things again.  One of those is definitely straightening up my apartment, but another is getting back to going to museums and galleries.
Last weekend, I went with a friend to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  We saw the temporary exhibition of cubist art from the Leonard Lauder collection, among other things, but my main reason for going to the Met was to see an exhibit of kimonos in the Japanese art galleries that was about to close.
As expected, those kimonos were beautiful – many of them quite stunning, in fact – and it got me to thinking of my own trips to Japan.  With that in mind, I looked over the photos that I have scanned from my three trips to Japan.  From the first – and shortest – trip in 2004, I saw that I had scanned a fair amount, although more definitely needs to be done.
From the second trip, 15 days in 2005, with the exception of the photos that I made at an archery competition in Nikko (see my last post for one of them), I had only scanned five photographs.  Yes, that’s right.  Five.
From the most recent trip – two weeks in 2010 – I had scanned twelve.  While that’s better than just five, it still is not a lot.  With that in mind, I decided to go into my archive of negatives and scan some more from Japan.  While I had wanted to go back my 2005 photos, the 2010 negatives were easier to find, so that’s what I decided to go with.
2997_05--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

Kenrokuen Garden, Kanazawa, Japan, 2010

 Of the photos you’re seeing here, the one at the top is of one of Japan’s most identifiable symbols:  Mount Fuji, photographed from the Hakone region.  (By the way, the Japanese call the mountain “Fuji-san,” not “Fuji-yama” as some people in the west think it’s called.  The “san” in this case means ‘mountain’ – derived from Chinese, I believe – and not ‘mister.’)
As for the other photos, they were made at the Kenrokuen garden in the city of Kanazawa.  This is considered one of Japan’s finest gardens and it was my second time there, as I made a day trip from Tokyo to Kanazawa on my first trip to the the country in 2004.  Whether it is a first visit or a second visit – or, I suspect, a hundredth – this is delightful place to walk and observe the Japanese vision of idealized nature.  Naturally, it’s a delightful place to photograph, too.

2996_09--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

 

2997_08--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

 

2998_08--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

 

2997_03--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

 

2998_07--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

 

 

2998_09--Kanazawa_Kenrokuen

 

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

