Saigon Streetscape

Riders and Trees, Saigon, 2011

Riders and Trees, Saigon, 2011

A couple of weeks ago I made a post with some photos that I took while strolling through the streets of Ho Chi Minh City (aka Saigon) on my last trip to Vietnam in 2011.
The photo I’m posting today was made during the same walk as those other photos, but I decided to hold off on posting it with them as it didn’t quite fit into the “people pictures” grouping of those others.
To me, this is more of a streetscape.  What attracted me was the way that the trees – parts of them going straight up, parts of them going diagonally – fit in with the wooden posts on the left, which seem to be mimicking what the trees are doing.
The addition of the two motorbikes and their riders gives a sense of scale to the trees, and I like the way that the leaves on top fill the space of the sky.
It was good to look at these images again several years after making them, and I hope to do more of this with my travel photos to display here.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

