Among the Giants

Nude, Iceland, 2013

Nude, Iceland, 2013

In my last post about Iceland, which showed a picture from last year of Aubrey in front of an ancient volcano (here), I mentioned that we were actually on the way to another location near the water on the Snaefellsnes peninsula.
Well, here are some of those photos near the water.  This particular location had some fantastic rock formations down on the stony beach which dwarfed the models.  In these photos, Brooke looks tiny indeed next to these massive outcroppings.
As was the unfortunate norm for last year’s trip to Iceland, the weather was once again very cold.  I had loaded film into my two cameras – my primary, the Pentax 67, and the backup, my Fuji GW670 6×7 rangefinder – so that I could shoot two rolls of film of Brooke and Aubrey together without having to stop to change film.

3458_4 - Brooke

However, it was so cold that the girls suggested that one of them model for one roll, after which she could run back to the car and turn on the heater full blast while the other was modeling.  I agreed to this, and Brooke modeled first.
Thankfully, as I think I have noted before, the weather was much better for this year’s trip, though at times I got quite chilly, too.

3458_6 - Brooke

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Among the Giants

  1. Pingback: Back to Snaefellsnes | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

