London by Holga

London, England, 2014

London, England, 2014

On my recent trip to Iceland, I told the two models who I brought with me – Nadine and Zoe – that the last time that I photographed a model, or even used my Pentax 67 camera, was back in September of last year when I photographed Nadine near her home in the Delaware Water Gap region of New Jersey.
Yes, folks, I went over nine months without photographing a model or even picking up my primary camera.
I guess there are photographers who feel that they need to work every single month, or maybe even every week.  They need to keep working to keep sharp.  Well, I’m not one of them.  I work when I can, if I can.  I like to think that I’ve been doing photography long enough that my way of seeing will still be there when I go looking for it.  Besides, I use film and make prints, and as doing those things are costly, in terms of both dollars and hours, I only have so much time and money to spend on doing them.
Still, I had not gone completely without making any photos since September.  In May, I went to England for a little over a week to go to some museums and theatre in London and to go to a Doctor Who convention in Oxfordshire. (Yes, that’s right. Doctor Who.)
As I knew that I’d be spending a lot of time indoors doing non-photographic things, I decided not to encumber myself by bringing a lot of camera gear with me.  Still, I wanted to be able to shoot some film photos, so I decided to bring a dozen rolls of 120 film and my Holga with me.  (Yes, that’s right.  A Holga.)
I never did use all of those dozen rolls.  Most of my time in London was spent going to museums, going to the theatre and meeting friends.  For me to walk around to “see” and photograph in a certain way, I need to get myself into a certain frame of my mind, and I just couldn’t do that while running around doing those other things.
However, after I returned to London from Oxfordshire for one more night before returning home, I found that I had the afternoon free.  This was my chance, so I stuffed some film into my pockets, put the Holga around my neck and out I went.  Heck, I didn’t even bring a bag with me.  When it began to rain later, I just hid the Holga underneath my jacket.
Here are some of the results from that day, mostly from the first of the four rolls that I exposed.  More will follow.

3540_01 London Gower St

 

 

3540_09 London bookstore

 

3540_06 London

 

3540_09 London umbrella shop

 

3541_01 - London British Museum

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

