Icelandscapes

3456_3 - view from Berserkjahraun
My last few postings included some nude photos made during my trip to Iceland last year.  I chose to go to Iceland to photograph nudes as the landscape there is so dramatic and beautiful, so now I’m going to post some pure landscape photos.  I’ve already posted photos of some waterfalls and those made at the Jokularlon glacier lagoon, but these now are a bit more random.
I do have to admit that I would have liked to have included a nude figure in some of these images, but circumstances did not allow it.   Still, there is nothing wrong with photos of the landscape by itself.
These photos were made in different parts of Iceland, so I’ll be putting them in order from west to east.
The first photo, at the top, was made from the Berserkjahraun lava field that I’ve recently written about.  A rough dirt road winds its way through this amazing place, and looking west while driving on it in the late afternoon yielded the scene that you see here, with a volcanic crater silhouetted against a dramatic sky.
Naturally, I had to stop to expose a roll of 120 with this breathtaking scene.  Unfortunately, I was unable to spend as much time as I may have liked in doing so, as this road is quite literally wide enough for just one vehicle (and it’s not even marked as a one-way!) and another car had ridden up behind mine waiting to proceed.
As it happens, I returned to this lava field the following afternoon, but the lighting at this spot was not nearly as dramatic as it was this day – proof that you’ve got to take advantage of such situations while you still can.

3436_5 - View to Reynisfara

Next is the view east from the Dyrhólaey peninsula on the south coast. I had made a day trip to this part of Iceland on my first trip there in 1995, but I had never been up there before, and it was amazing to see this view looking toward the Reynisfjall mountain and the Reynisdrangar sea stacks, with the beautiful black sand beach in between.  It seems like a scene that was made to be photographed in black & white.
Here is a closer up scene looking toward those sea stacks, made from the black stone beach next to the mountain.  I have to admit that this is one place where I wanted to photograph nudes.  As a matter of fact, when I decided to go to Iceland to photograph nudes, this was the number one place that I had in mind!

3452_4 - Reynisdrangar beach near Vik

Sadly, it never happened.  This photo was made around 11:30 pm, when I went out there with one of my models thinking that nobody else would be there at that hour.  I was right about that, as we were alone.  Unfortunately, the weather was brutal: cold, raw and windy – not good conditions for nude modeling.
I still had the following morning, before we hit the road to travel further west, but I had told the two girls that I would let them sleep late.  Silly me, I actually let them do that!  I did go back with the other model, and though the conditions were still not good (but a little better than before), she eventually agreed to model for a quick few shots.  By now it was around 8 am, though, and before we could start, a tourist showed up.
So, we waited for him to leave.  Before he did, two more tourists arrived.  When they left, more arrived.  And more. And more…..
We waited there for 45 minutes, and during that time we did not have one single minute to ourselves.  If we had gotten there just a few minutes earlier, I could have gotten some photos, so I guess I learned my lesson that day:  never promise to allow models to sleep late!

3450_3 - near Hofn

Finally, these last two photos were made at the easternmost part of the trip, near the town called Höfn  in the southeast.   I was taken here by one of the Icelandic photographers who I had befriended, and though I did get three rolls of nudes here, we were stopped from getting more by the arrival of tourists to the area.
Again, as interesting as this scene was, some pure landscape photos seemed in order.

3451_1 - near Hofn

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

