Oyama

Oyama Shrine, Kanazawa, Japan, 2010

Oyama Shrine, Kanazawa, Japan, 2010

It’s been a while since I posted – or even scanned – any photos from my three trips to Japan, so I thought I’d remedy both of those deficiencies today.  Photos have been scanned, and here they are being posted.
I decided to scan some photos from my most recent trip to Japan in 2010 simply because it’s easier to find the negatives from a relatively recent trip than from trips made five or six years earlier.  (I really do need to get to work one day cataloging all my negatives so that I can know in which binder to find whatever it is that I seek.)

3008_04--Kanazawa_Oyama Shrine at night

These photos were made one night in the city of Kanazawa in western Japan.  I had been there on my first trip to Japan in 2004 and visited the area again in 2005, but both of those visits had been day trips from Kyoto.  The third time I stayed overnight, and decided to take advantage of that by paying a nighttime visit to the Oyama Shrine that was located close to my hotel.

3007_06--Kanazawa_Oyama Shrine at night

It felt a bit eerie being there at night by myself, setting up my tripod and composing images in the dark, with the occasional passer by moving about but never stopping.  Getting a good exposure reading at night can be difficult, and here I did what I normally do in these situations: I used the spot-meter attachment for my meter and metered off an  area that I wanted to expose properly.  This often gives me an exposure in excess of one second, and to compensate for reciprocity failure, I usually multiply the exposure time by two or three, so that one second becomes two or three seconds.
Even though I still have a lot of negatives from Japan to scan, I would still like to go back for more.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

