Jackknife

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

Here’s a fairly short post from me today, this time with one of the photos from my 2012 trip to Canada with Dane St. Clair and Erica Jay.
The photo was made early one morning at a beach on Nova Scotia’s Cape Breton Island.  It was actually a photo that I had to make twice.   Looking down the beach, I was interested in the mountain with the sharp, pointy peak that can be seen in the distance.  I decided to try to get Dane and Erica to have their bodies mimic the triangular form of the mountain by bending their bodies into a similar shape.
So, I got things set up…but before I could actually capture the image on film, a band of low lying clouds floated by and obscured the point on top of the mountain.  (It just had to happen at that particular moment, didn’t it?)  Naturally, this effectively ruined what I wanted to do, but I went ahead and pushed the shutter release all the same.
After that, we went on creating more photographs.  Before we left the beach, though, to head back for breakfast, I looked over to the peak and I saw that the clouds had moved on and that we once more had a clear shot.  I asked the girls to get back into their jackknife positions and was finally able to create the desired image that you now see here.
It’s a good thing that we left when we did, right after this photo was made.  As I recall, it just started to drizzle, and another car was heading up to the beach, too.
Sometimes, as the saying goes, it’s all in the timing.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

