September

Untitled Nude, 2013

Untitled Nude, 2013

In my final blog post of 2013, I wrote a brief recap of the photographic work that I did last year.  I included scans from negatives for all of the photo projects I had embarked upon, except for the last one, as I had not yet gotten the film developed at the time of writing.
Well, that problem has now been remedied.  All 14 rolls of 120 film, shot in September with Nadine Stevens at the Delaware Water Gap region of northwestern New Jersey, have now been developed and filed into pages, ready to be scanned.

Nadine 3521_05 - NJ 09-2013

I had actually planned to watch a movie last night, but I was so interested in seeing the results on the film that I began scanning negatives instead.  Here are three of them.
The photo at the top was made late in the afternoon on our second day of shooting at the Delaware River itself.  As we were out in the open and there was plenty of sunlight, I chose to forego my standard film, Ilford HP5 400, in favor of the slower Ilford PanF50.  Not only does the ISO 50 film have finer grain the 400 speed film, its slower speed also allowed me to use a wider aperture to blur the background much more than I could have done with the faster film.
The other two photos here were, however, made with the HP5.  The one in the middle was made on the afternoon of our first day of shooting at a partially collapsed building.  The photo at the bottom was made outside an abandoned house the following morning.
Looking over the negatives, I think I’ve got quite a few more good images to scan.  Hopefully you’ll get to see them sometime in the future.

Nadine 3525_06 - NJ 09-2013

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

