Opening Night in Bushwick

DSCF2073wp
I drove on Saturday night from my home in Brooklyn to the other end of Brooklyn to attend the opening night reception for the “Out With The Old…” photo exhibition at the Bushwick Community Darkroom.  (Actually, I drove there twice on Saturday, as I needed to bring the framed print over in the afternoon.)  I have been on the Darkroom’s e-mail list for a while, but until this time, I had never been there before.  I’m glad that I went.
The Bushwick Community Darkroom is the kind of place that I like: a darkroom for those people like me who are dedicated to developing film and making silver gelatin prints.  It’s not a big place, but apparently there are a fair amount of people who go there to make prints and develop film.  It was set up by a young woman named Lucia Rollow, who, as she told me, needed a darkroom where she could do printing.  So, she managed to create a darkroom for others, too, and it appears to be a bit of a neighborhood institution.  Good for her!
When I was there in the afternoon, I even met a fellow who had travelled all the way down from Harlem to do his printing, and that’s quite a haul by public transportation.  He told me that he used to shoot digitally, but once he got introduced to darkroom printing, he couldn’t go back.  That’s the kind of dedication that I like.
Aubrey and me

Aubrey and me

My print on display is a photo of Aubrey made in Iceland last summer.  In fact, all of the photos on display were shot last year.  My print is on the wall next to the other nude in the show, a print by Eric Jiaju Lee.  Eric was there, too, so we had a nice conversation talking about things.  In fact, there was a nice turnout, so the space was fairly crowded, and I had nice chats with a number of people, including the curator for the show, Scott Nyerges.
So, overall, it was worth a couple of trips to the other end of Brooklyn.  I hope that I’ll be back again.
The Bushwick Community Darkroom is located at 108 Thames St, Brooklyn, New York 11237.  My print and the others should be on display for several  more weeks.
Lucia (Ieft) with guests

Lucia (Ieft) with guests

Eric Jiaju Lee with his print

Eric Jiaju Lee with his print

Scott

Scott

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

