A Six Year Drought, Ended

PHOTO France 2014
So, here we are in 2014.  I hope that all of my readers had a happy and safe new year celebration.  For me and my photography, I have had a few things to celebrate, too.
I wrote recently that one of my photos made in Iceland last year was chosen for the “Five Elements” exhibition at the Darkroom Gallery in Vermont.  (That show opens this week, on January 9, so if you’ll be in the Burlington/Essex Junction area, please stop in.)
The good news continued this past Friday, when I received word from the people at the Bushwick Community Darkroom here in Brooklyn that another of my Iceland photos was accepted into their upcoming group show, “Out With the Old…”  The photo chosen was the one that I featured at the top in my last blog post (here).
Then,  I found out yesterday from a Facebook friend in France that one of my photos has just been published in the annual contest issue of the French magazine, PHOTO.  My work has been published in this issue of the magazine several times, but the last such instance was back in 2007, so I’ve been waiting to break the dry spell for quite a number of years.
This issue of the magazine does not normally reach US newsstands until sometime in March, and the magazine doesn’t tell you if your work has been published, so I thank my friend Raphaël Villatte for giving me the heads up on the publication.  He also made a photo of the page with my picture on it.  You can see my photo on the right side, in the lower left corner.  To find out more about the photo, which I made in Maine in  2012, and to get a better look at it, click here to see the blog post I made about it last year.
I’ll write more about my history with PHOTO France when I actually have a copy of the new magazine in hand.  For now, I’ll just say that it’s nice to be back in print there again.
I’ve also put my string of good news at risk by entering another competition for a gallery show, this one on the subject of the photographic nude.  I usually do well in these competitions, but there’s never a guarantee, so I’m hoping that my good luck will continue to hold.
As usual, stay tuned.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Six Year Drought, Ended

  1. Pingback: PHOTO France | Figures of Grace

  2. Pingback: Another Photo in PHOTO | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

