Year’s End

Nude, Iceland, 2013

Nude, Iceland, 2013

I wrote in my last post that I would try not to take a month to make another posting, having taken that much time between that last post and the one before.  I said that I would try to stay to a more normal schedule, so today I present to you a new posting just four days after the last one.
As tomorrow is the last day of the year and as this will be my last post for 2013, I’ve decided to display one of my favorite photos from my major photographic endeavor of the year: my trip to Iceland in July.
In my last post about the Iceland trip, I displayed some photos that I made with Aubrey and Brooke at a canyon called Fjaðrárgljúfur.  The photo above was also made there, too, but while those in the last post were made up on the rim of the canyon, this one of Aubrey was made down by the river.  It’s a shame that the weather really didn’t permit us to spend more time there, as it is a really spectacular location.  Perhaps next time.
*********************************************************************************************
In some years past, I have used the last posting of the year as a synopsis of my photographic activity over the course of the past twelve months.  Well, it hasn’t been very even this year.  What transpired?
The first thing worth writing about was a trip up to Vermont in late April, when one of my photos was included in a gallery exhibit at the Darkroom Gallery in Essex Junction, near Burlington, and I drove up to attend the reception.  I also brought models Erica Jay and Nadine Stevens with me, and one cold morning we did a photo shoot, where I tried out my new fisheye lens.
Nude, Vermont, 2013

Nude, Vermont, 2013

Nothing much happened until July, when I did not one but two things:  the aforementioned trip to Iceland at the beginning of the month, and a trip to Las Vegas, which included a photo shoot with Fiona Flowers, at the end.
Nude, Nevada, 2013

Nude, Nevada, 2013

The following month, I did a bit of a redux of last year’s trip to Canada, as I drove up again to New Brunswick with Erica Jay and Dane St. Clair. There we met with two local photographers and two local models and had a grand time for two days, followed by a day photographing on our own.
Nude, New Brunswick, 2013

Nude, New Brunswick, 2013

My final photos of the year were made with Nadine Stevens in the Delaware Water Gap region of New Jersey.  For various reasons, I have not yet developed this film, so I will just have to include one of the snapshots from my digital camera at this time.  I do hope to get the film developed next month, though.
Nadine

Nadine

Finally, I found out this month that one of my photographs from Iceland has been selected to be in another exhibit at the Darkroom Gallery in Vermont.  I guess that’s not a bad way to end the year, isn’t it?
So what lies ahead for me and my photography in 2014?   I’ve got a few ideas in mind, so stay tuned to find out.
Happy new year, everyone!

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

