Girl in the Water

Nude, Nova Scotia,2012

Nude, Nova Scotia,2012

I see that it’s been nearly three weeks since my last blog post.  Has it really been that long an absence?  Still, nothing happens – or doesn’t happen – without reasons.  My reasons?  Just being busy.
A couple of weeks ago, I spent two nights at the annual Print Fair in New York City, as I’m interested in printmaking (lithographs, engravings, etchings, etc.) as well as photography.  Immediately thereafter, weekend before last, I attended the first LI Who “Doctor Who” convention on Long Island, where I got together with some friends, participated in a couple of panel discussions on the series, and had fun in general.
Then things got difficult:  I began working a lot of overtime at the office, this being the busiest time of the year, AND came down with a very bad cold that still has me feeling like hell.  Between all of these things, I haven’t had the time or the energy to do all of the things that I’ve wanted.
So, with this post, I hope to begin getting back on a regular posting schedule, despite anything that might work against it.  What have I got in store today?
I titled my second-to-last posting (and my last art nude posting) “Girl Under Water.”  Those photos were from last year’s trip to Canada with Dane St. Clair and Erica Jay, and showed Erica in Nova Scotia, near Halifax.  Today I’m continuing the watery Nova Scotian theme with some photos of Dane standing in the water, at the shore’s edge, up on Cape Breton Island.

3343_7 - Dane

For these photos, I wanted to do a study of the different ways in which water can form patterns.  I asked Dane to stand in the same spot, while I waited for the tide to come in to wash around her.  I don’t remember exactly how many exposures I made – I’ll have to look at my negatives again for that – but these are the two that I scanned.  I think they and their watery patterns make a nice contrast which other, as well as with Dane.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

