Girl Under Water

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

As promised at the end of my last posting, I’m returning to my black & white photography in this blog installment.
This time, I’m returning to the trip I made to Canada last year with models Erica Jay and Dane St. Clair.  The photos seen here were made in Nova Scotia on our second day working in the Halifax area.  As I’ve noted before, we met with local photographer Eric Boutilier-Brown, who took us to some of his favorite locations.
This particular day turned out to be very sunny.  In fact, it was so sunny that I refer to it as the “sunburn shoot.”  We didn’t leave early in the morning as I might normally do on a day with such a forecast, so with the sun relatively high in the sky, I primarily tried to aim my camera downward toward the models to get more even lighting that way.
These particular photos were at the end of the photo session.  We were photographing at the beautiful coastline outside of Halifax, and I wanted to try to do some long exposure images of one of the models with the water rushing by.  In order to do this, given the brightness of the sun and the fact that I was using high speed (ISO 400) film, I had to borrow a very dark neutral density filter from Eric.  This filter was so dark that even in the bright sunlight I wasn’t really able to discern anything through the camera’s viewfinder, so I had to focus without the filter and then put the filter on.

3324_5 - Erica_nr Peggys Cove

As for the photos themselves, Erica agreed to go to the rocks near the water’s edge and then wait for some big waves to come by.  I think I shot about half a dozen photos like this, with my favorite at the top here, along with another one that I like .  There’s some good rushing water going past Erica, but what I like best is the thin spray of water going over her.
It’s great having models who are brave (or is it crazy?) enough to try something like this.  Thank you, EJ!

********************************************************************************

In other news, I am continuing to get back to printing photos on a regular basis.  Here are some new 11 x 14 inch silver prints that I made this weekend.  Two of the photos are from my trip to Maine last year; the other is from this year’s trip to Iceland.

IMG_6675wp

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

