First Nudes in Iceland

Nude, Iceland, 2013

Nude, Iceland, 2013

I thought it was time for me to finally begin posting some of the nude photographs that I made in Iceland this summer.  I made a few travelogue postings, plus some posts of my waterfall photos, but until now, I haven’t posted any nudes.
So, I thought I would start at the beginning, with the first roll of nudes shot on the trip.  These photos were made on our first full day in Iceland, as Aubrey, Brooke and I had arrived the previous morning and spent that day in Reykjavik.  On this day, we checked out of the hotel and got our rental car – a Citroen station wagon with a diesel engine.  The big question was:  where to go?
On that day I had planned to drive past Thingvellir National Park to the Gullfoss waterfall, then stopping to see the geyser at Geysir and then head back to the national park, before driving to our hotel for the night.  One of the Icelandic photographers I was in contact with suggested taking the secondary road toward Thingvellir, south of the primary one, as it might yield some good photo locations.
This is what I did, driving along a road that had a large pipeline immediately next to it on one side.  There was an interesting landscape to the other side, but it was too exposed to the road.  At one point I passed a small ridge that I thought might block the view from the road, but when I pulled off and tried to drive up what appeared to be a rough track, I soon realized that four wheel drive would be needed for that, and my car didn’t have it.

3428_6 - Aubrey

We continued on until finally we came upon a nice sized parking lot.  It seemed like an odd place for such a parking lot to be, but I soon learned from a posted sign that this was the head for a series of hiking trails.  What better place, I thought to myself, for some nude photos?  We began to walk up one trail, and shortly after disappearing from view from the lot, I found the interesting rock formation that you see in these photos.  I liked the boulder on the top and the little cave like area below it.
It looked like a great spot to photograph a nude, but there was just one problem: the weather was cold – and windy!   Cold is one thing, but add in wind and it becomes a lot worse.  Despite the harsh conditions, Aubrey agreed to model for a quick series of ten shots (or a full roll of 120 film).  Once that roll was finished, we hurried on back to the car to turn the heat on – something that became the pattern for most of the photos made in Iceland.
As many people mentioned to me in Iceland, this has been the coldest summer in memory there.  I recently met a man from Iceland in New York who told me that his son goes to school in Reykjavik.  His son had also told him that this has been the coldest summer in Iceland – but that the previous two summers had been the warmest!  (Naturally, I had to try to go there a year too late!)

****************************************************************************

In other news, I did something unusual recently:  I printed some photos.  You can see silver prints from three negatives below.  All are from my trip to Canada last year with Erica Jay and Dane St. Clair.

IMG_6664wp

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Nudes in Iceland

  1. Pingback: Iceland: Round 2 | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

