A Lovely Weekend in (um) New Jersey

Nadine

Nadine

I spent a very nice two days this past weekend with friend and model Nadine Stevens at and near her home in New Jersey.  She lives in the northwestern part of the state, by the Delaware Water Gap, and it’s very beautiful there.  (Yes, you read that correctly.  There are beautiful parts of New Jersey!)
I had first met Nadine in late April, when she and model Erica Jay joined me on a trip to Vermont to attend the reception for a gallery show with one of my photos.  (See here.)  I had kept in touch with Nadine, and she had asked me to come out to visit her in her neck of the woods, where she said there were plentiful locations for photography.
Oh, deer!

Oh, deer!

Then, during the summer, she asked me to visit this past weekend to be the guest of honor at the first of what I call “salon nights,” where she’ll invite some of her artistic and other friends over to talk about art and other things and to view the work of the guest.  I agreed to be the “guinea pig,” so to speak, as I was the first special guest to be so invited.
Well, the anticipated day finally arrived on Saturday, when I packed my bag with four DVDs containing slide shows of my photography, along with a portfolio of 11 x 14 silver prints.  Unfortunately, I had some things to do that morning, so I was behind schedule, and after arriving later than planned, our afternoon photography session had to be cut short.
Drumming in the Awbrook Art Room

Drumming in the Awbrook Art Room

Still, the best still lay ahead.  After a fine dinner at a popular local restaurant – with a window view that looked onto a beautiful mountain range with grazing deer in the foreground – we went back to Nadine’s place, where many of her friends had already gathered at her studio, which she calls the Awbrook Art Room.
After introductions were made all around, I set up my laptop computer to display my slide shows.  I wasn’t sure if the folks there would want to see the work on all four of the DVDs I brought with me, featuring work both old and new, but they did.  Even better, they seemed to like them!  Next, I showed the actual prints that I had brought with me.
A model's eye view

A model’s eye view

The following morning, Nadine, her boyfriend and I went out for breakfast and then got down to the business of doing some photography.  (Her boyfriend did the driving, and I owe him my thanks for standing as a lookout while Nadine and I were working.) There were a lot of great locations to choose from in the area – too many for the limited time we had – but we ended up working at an abandoned house, a very old barn and, finally, by the beautiful Delaware River.
I haven’t developed the film yet, of course, but I think that Nadine and I created some good work together.  This was most likely the last set of art nude photos that I’ll do outdoors (or at all) this year, so I think that this was a good way to finish things off.  I thank Nadine for her hospitality, giving me the chance to show my work to a new audience and, of course, for a wonderful day of photography.  I hope that next year I’ll be able to go back for more.
On location

On location

Framed!

Framed!

Autumn has arrived

Autumn has arrived

The Delaware

The Delaware

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

