18 Years

Well, folks, that date on the calendar – August 19 – has come around once again.  For those of you who may have forgotten (okay, probably all of you!), it was on August 19, 1995, that I made my first art nude photographs at a workshop in Woodstock, New York.  Thus, today is the 18th anniversary of my becoming an art nude photographer.
A lot of film has passed through my camera since that day – and yes, I am still mostly using that very same Pentax 67 that I used 18 years ago today (and I have no plans to give it up).  Three years ago, on my 15th anniversary – a milestone number of sorts – I decided to make a post including one nude photo from each calendar year that I’d been photographing nudes.
I had planned to do that again five years later, for my 20th anniversary, but I liked it so much that I’ve made it an annual event.   So, please enjoy the photos that follow, from 1995 to 2013.  It’s been an interesting ride, and I wonder where it will take me next. (I guess I should try to do something really special to celebrate 20 years two years from now.  Perhaps I’ll finally publish a retrospective book of my art nude work – but there’s only one way for you to find out.)
Untitled Nude, 1995

Untitled Nude, 1995

Untitled Nude, 1996

Untitled Nude, 1996

New Mexico Nude, 1997

New Mexico Nude, 1997

New Mexico Nude, 1998

New Mexico Nude, 1998

Untitled Nude, 1999

Untitled Nude, 1999

Nude, Provence, 2000

Nude, Provence, 2000

Nude, Big Sur, 2001

Nude, Big Sur, 2001

Untitled Nude, 2002

Untitled Nude, 2002

Untitled Nude, 2003

Untitled Nude, 2003

Nude, Scotland, 2004

Nude, Scotland, 2004

Nude, Arizona, 2005

Nude, Arizona, 2005

Nude, Nevada, 2006

Nude, Nevada, 2006

Nude, Ohio, 2007

Nude, Ohio, 2007

Nude,  Joshua Tree, 2008

Nude, Joshua Tree, 2008

Nude, Oregon, 2009

Nude, Oregon, 2009

Studio Nude, 2010

Studio Nude, 2010

Untitled Nude, 2011

Untitled Nude, 2011

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

Nude, Nova Scotia, 2012

Nude, Iceland, 2013

Nude, Iceland, 2013

To see my 15th anniversary post (on my old blog) which explains how I got started photographing nudes, click here.   To see the 16th and 17th anniversary posts, here on the new blog, click here and here.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 18 Years

  1. Joe Vargas says:

    Dave, This is exquisite! Congratulations and keep making amazing art nudes!!!
    Joe Vargas

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    Thanks for saying so, Joe. I have no intention to quit and am already planning for next year!

  3. Congrats! When you hit 20 years you should release a book! I’d buy one!

  4. Hey man. Congrats on the longevity. I sincerely hope you continue to have access to film, chemicals, and paper. I honestly don’t want to see the day I hear from you saying you’ve stopped doing this. You’ve been an inspiration and I say that with the utmost admiration.

Leave a Reply

