A Bridge in the Rain

Bridge, Kyoto, 2010

Bridge, Kyoto, 2010

It’s been a while since I posted any of my travel photos here, so I’ve decided to go back to my old faithful travel location for good photographs:  Japan.   Between my three trips to Japan – in 2004, 2005 and 2010 – I think I’ve spent a total of about a month in that country.  However, I don’t think I’ve scanned more than a week’s worth of photos (and perhaps not even that much).
Today’s photo comes from the most recent trip.  I was walking around in Kyoto on a drizzly day when I came upon this interesting stone bridge, which leads to the Nishiotani Mausoleum.  I’ve long admired these Japanese bridges, whether built of stone or wood.  Everything just seems so graceful about them, and I liked the way that this one fit in with the trees and the water around it.
What made this photograph difficult to make was, quite simply, the rain.  It certainly wasn’t coming down in buckets, but it was strong enough to need an umbrella for cover, and as I was by myself, I had no one to hold it for me.  I don’t even think there were any other pedestrians to ask.  So, I had to hold the camera up to my eye, compose and focus while I was also trying to hold my umbrella steady between my neck and my shoulder without any hands.
I think it was worth the effort.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

