Flowers Revealed

Nude, Nevada, 2010

Nude, Nevada, 2010

One of my favorite photographs that I’ve made in recent years was made in September 2010 in the Nevada desert outside of Las Vegas.  It’s the one you see above here, with the model behind a column of rock, arms and legs symmetrically outstretched.
This photo was a collaboration between me and the model, Fiona Flowers.  It was her idea to try getting behind the rock, and it was my idea for her to raise her arms up as she does here.
You can’t see her face here, or in any of the photos that I’ve posted of her online, and there was a reason for that.  At the time that we made these photos, she preferred to remain anonymous, and though I made some photographs where her face could be seen so she could have them for herself, I respected her request for privacy.
Recently, however, her situation has changed and she has given me the green light to show her face, which I am happy about – because it is quite a lovely face, I think.  You can see it peeking out from behind the rock in the photo below.
Thank you, Fiona, for allowing me to bring all of your beauty to the world.  I hope that we will have the opportunity to work together again.

Fiona2010_R2_13_lg

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

