Two From Tokyo

Festival Marchers, Tokyo, 2010

Festival Marchers, Tokyo, 2010

It’s been quite a while since I posted any photos made during my trips to Japan.  I’ve been to Japan three times – in 2004, 2005 and 2010 – for a total of about a month’s time, but I have in fact scanned only a very small portion of all the images I shot there.
Today, then, I scanned a couple of photos from the most recent trip to post here.  Both of these photos were made in Tokyo on the same day in May 2010, but I chose to post them together as I was thinking of their graphic content when I framed the image and pushed the shutter release for each.
The first one you see here from that day (above) was made in the Asakusa section of Tokyo.  The primary attraction of this area is Senso-ji, the city’s oldest Buddhist temple, which is commonly referred to in English as Asakusa Kannon Temple.  A lot of activities take place in the area, and on that particular day, a festival was taking place, with a lot of marchers dressed in traditional Japanese garb.
I was behind this particular group, and I liked the way that the white writing was highlighted against the dark material, which was also repeated by the different marchers.
(Incidentally, for those of you out there who own Canon cameras, I once read that the name for the camera was taken from Kannon, the Buddhist goddess of mercy and compassion.)
Bridge, Tokyo, 2010

Bridge, Tokyo, 2010

Senso-ji may be something very old, but the subject of the second photo – the tower of a bridge spanning the Sumida River – is not.  I like the way the lines spread out from the curvy modern design of the tower, which reminds me of the upper portion of a violin where the strings are anchored.  (The comparison to a violin ends there, I guess, as that part of the violin is called the peg box, while the “bridge of the violin” is elsewhere.  Oh, well.)

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

