Iceland

Vik

Vik

It’s been a while since I posted some color travel photos here.  It’s been a lot longer since I posted any of my color travel photos made with my medium format equipment.  Although I use my medium format gear these days exclusively for black & white, the truth is that I bought it primarily for color transparency work.
In those days, I had dreams of making a few dollars from my travel photography by working with a stock photo agency.  Those dreams didn’t last very long.  I had taken a portfolio of a few hundred images to an agency here in New York, and the answer I got was that my photos were good enough, but there just weren’t enough of them.  While I had a few hundred, they were looking for a few thousand! – and with just a few weeks vacation a year to devote to travel photography, I couldn’t see myself being able to come up with those numbers.  It was then that I embarked on a “career” as a fine art photographer, which I could do at my own pace.
Thingvellir National Park

Thingvellir National Park

Anyway, the first place I visited after I had purchased my Pentax 67 system was Iceland.  It was a place I had wanted to visit, and after I had seen an ad from Icelandair, as I recall, I figured that Iceland would be a good place to try the equipment out.  This was back in 1995, the year that I first began photographing nudes, but my first nude workshop and photo shoot was still months ahead when I travelled here.  I had actually posted some of my photos from this trip – including an award winner – when I began my original blog back in 2007;  you can see it here.
Skogafoss waterfall

Skogafoss waterfall

What did I think of Iceland?  The landscape is amazing.  I’ve read that it is the most spectacular in the world – a volcanic island that is still being formed – and from what I saw, I have to agree.  I looked over these photos again recently as I’d like to go back again sometime, but for now, here are photographs of the coastline at Vik, mainland Iceland’s southernmost point; Thingvellier National Park, the site of Iceland’s ancient parliament – the first in Europe, I believe; and the beautiful Skogafoss waterfall.
By the way, from the snow in the landscape and the way that people are dressed, you might think that these photos were made in January or February, but in fact they done in the first week of May.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Iceland

  1. Initiator ;-) says:

    Waooo..Great

Leave a Reply

