Apex

Nude, Maine, 2012

Nude, Maine, 2012

I see that I made my last blog post just one week ago, so I seem to be catching up with things and getting closer to making posts here on a regular schedule.  Let’s hope the trend can continue.
One of the things that I’ve been doing recently is scanning film from my trip to Maine and Canada in August, so my photo today will be from that.  I drove up to Maine from New York with models Dane St. Clair and Erica Jay, but when we arrived we met up with my friend, photographer Dave Levingston, and two models, Kelsey Dylan and Brooke Lynne, who had arrived a few days earlier.
The following morning, we all set out to a rocky site on the coast to do some photography, where we also met another friend of ours, Ted Preuss, for a total of three photographers and four models.
The photo above is one of the earlier ones I made that morning.  I was working alone with Kelsey after having noticed the large, diamond shaped boulder in the photo.  I imagined Kelsey lying on the big rock, draped over the apex in a jackknife type position, and I told her what I was visualizing – so she got up there and she did it!
I’ll post more photos from this set next time – hopefully fairly soon.  Stay tuned.
Otherwise, I recently purchased two more lenses via eBay for my Pentax 67 and both have now arrived: a 135mm macro lens and a 35mm fisheye.  I haven’t put any film through the camera with them yet, but I have taken a look through the viewfinder with each one.  The macro lens definitely allows me to focus much closer and get a much larger image of an object than with the 105mm normal lens.  The 35mm is an ultra wide angle, but it’s a full frame fisheye and not the kind that gives a circular image, though there is definite curvature to objects to the left and right of center.  I’m looking forward to testing them out and seeing what kind of good use I can put them to.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

