A Walk in Hue

Four Friends, Hue, Vietnam, 2011

I thought I’d scan a few photos from my trip to Vietnam last year.  I’ve been thinking lately of where to go on my travels next year, so I got to thinking that I should scan more of the film from the places I’ve already been to.
These photos were made in the city of Hue (pronounced “h’way,” not “h’you”) in central Vietnam.  This city was the imperial capital of the Nguyen dynasty from 1805 to 1945 (though much of that time under French colonization), but some may know of it more as having been involved in the Tet Offensive of 1968.
The city seems like a pretty peaceful place now, with a very nice Buddhist temple and the remnants of the royal citadel.  I’ll post some photos of those things at a later date.  These photos here were made late one afternoon when I had some free time and decided to take a walk from my hotel down to the river and then along it.

I always enjoy these times on my own when I can simply meander if I so wish.  Along the way, I photographed a number of people that I came across.  At first I was going to post photos of more people, but I decided instead to just post  the photos of these young women here who looked like they had been dining al fresco on the street.
I don’t speak Vietnamese, but they spoke a little bit of English and I was happy to try to converse with them as best I could.  Naturally, photos ensued.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

