Playing Bach in Rome

Playing Bach, Rome, 2009

It looks like it’s been quite a while since I posted one of my black & white travel photos, so I thought I’d scan a couple and post them today.
I made these photos while walking around during my final afternoon in Rome in 2009.  I came across a young woman playing her cello on the street, with the case open in front of her for donations.  I listened to her play for a while, and when she stopped, I asked – in Italian – whose music she was playing.  The answer (as you can probably guess):  Bach.
As far as scanning goes, my new scanner is still working well, with no lines through the scans that plagued the old one.  As I said, it seems inevitable that these things happen after a while, but hopefully that won’t happen in this new scanner for a long time.

That’s the good news.  Now the bad:  the folder in which I save all of my scans has DISAPPEARED from my computer and I don’t know how or why.  I made my first scan today and to save it, I went to my folder called Big Scans.  The problem is that it was no longer there.
I keep this folder on my external drive, which can sometimes go to sleep, in which case I need to turn it off and turn it on again.  This time, I shut down the computer, shut off the external drive, rebooted the computer and then turned the drive on again.  Still no Big Scans folder, although everything else on the drive seems to be there.
Naturally, I wondered if I may have deleted it accidentally, so I went to the Recycle Bin and checked for it but it wasn’t there.  I did several searches on my computer for files in that folder but again, nothing could be found.
So, right now, I am not especially happy.  The only good thing is that I recently backed up my computer on a backup drive that I have, so I’m hoping that I can restore that folder from there, but that’s something that I’ve never tried to do before, so I’m still a bit apprehensive.
As of now, the only film photos that I can post online are ones that I scan anew.  Stay tuned for further reports.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Bach in Rome

  1. simon1aith says:

    Might be worth installing software that can search for deleted files on your hard drive if you can’t get them off your backup drive.

    • Dave Rudin says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, Simon. Fortunately, when I booted up my computer today and turned on the drive, some kind of restoration was done and the folder is now back where it belongs. Needless to say, I am relieved!

Leave a Reply

