Maine

Erica and Venus at the cabin

Today is Labor Day here in the U.S., so I hope my followers here have been having an enjoyable holiday weekend.  I’m still trying to get caught up on things that went undone during my trip to Maine and Canada with Venus and Erica, which is one reason that I haven’t made a posting here for over a week.
Still, it is time for another one.  It’s going to be a while until I begin developing the film from this trip, and I haven’t scanned any other negatives for posting for a while, so instead I’ll be posting some travelogue photos today.  Normally, these photos taken with my pocket camera are of travel scenery, but as this was a different kind of trip, I’m going to begin with photos of the people who I met along the way.
Venus, Erica and I began our trip with three nights in Maine.  The first two nights were spent at a rented cabin that we shared with my friend, photographer Dave Levingston from Ohio, and his two travelling models, Brooke Lynne and Kelsey Dylan.
On my first day of photographing in Maine, we also met another friend of mine, photographer Ted Preuss from Chicago, who happened to vacationing not too far from us in Maine.  So, the seven of us met at a beautiful coastal location and got in some good shooting.  Ted even brought along his 8×10 Deardorf view camera and made a couple of 8×10 wet plate tintypes – the first time I’d seen anybody do this.
Our final night in Maine was spent at a historic motel close to the Canadian border, following an afternoon of shooting in the area with a local model, Dyaphanye.  The following morning, Venus, Erica and I crossed over into Canada to continue our adventure.  Stay tuned for another post about that.

Dave L at dinner

Erica and Brooke

Venus

Dave L looking majestic

Kelsey on location

Dave L watches as Brooke readies her camera

Ted getting ready to use his view camera

Ted using his view camera

Ted and the models

Dyaphanye and Erica

Dave L gets comfortable

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

