Erica and Venus (again)

Untitled Nude, 2012

I haven’t got too much to report about right now, so here’s another photo of Erica Jay (left) and Venus de Milo from our photo session a few weeks ago north of New York City.
I can report that this was one of the last photos that I scanned with my current Epson V500 flatbed scanner.  Sadly, I noticed upon enlarging the scanned image to 100% that were lines going through the image as well as other artifacts, even though I had given the glass a good cleaning.  It happened to other negatives, too.
I don’t know why this happens – perhaps some particles got into the scanner somehow – but after several years it seems to occur, so I recently ordered an Epson V600 scanner.  I could have gotten another V500, but I decided that for a little more I’d get the newer one, which comes with a film holder than can handle more negatives at once and also Optical Character Recognition software.  Hopefully I’ll get the new one shortly, as I plan to spend a fair of time next week doing a lot of scanning for various purposes.
Other than that, I am in the middle of planning something major, but I won’t say more about that until it’s actually happening.  Stay tuned.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

