Back (in action!)

Venus de Milo

Once again, I have to apologize for having gone such a long time without a posting here.  I am, however, guilty with an explanation.
The first reason is that I was away all of last week visiting family.  I had wanted to write a post to schedule it for posting before I left, but I didn’t have the time to do so.  Part of the cause of that was my second reason: I was expecting company this week and had to do a lot of cleaning up around here.  So, with having to prepare for both going away and then the subsequent arrival of visitors, you can imagine how much I had to do.
Still, I am back, in more ways than one.  First, of course, I’m back home in New York.  The other thing I’m back doing is photography.  I had not touched my primary camera since November of last year, when a travelling model came to visit for a few days and I spent some time photographing her in my studio set-up.

Waterscape

Today, though, I was out photographing again with some models – my first outdoor photography since August of last year, I believe.  My good friend Dave Levingston was coming to visit me this week, and as I had already made plans to photograph a model who was visiting New York at this time, I suggested to Dave that we get another model and go out together to photograph.
Well, the project snowballed a bit from there and we had four models lined up to go with us today to a wooded area north of the city.  As it turned out, the model I was originally going to photograph had to cancel due to illness and other reasons.   One of the other models also had to cancel because she was out of town and had to stay away longer than expected.

Erica Jay

So, it was just Dave and I and two models.  They were good ones, both of whom had never worked with either of us before: Venus de Milo and Erica Jay.  We both believe that we made a lot of good photographs today, even though it rained for much of the day.
I will, of course, have to develop my film to know for certain about my work and I will post some when I’m able to.  As usual, though, I also made a few snapshots with my pocket digital camera, so here are some of them for you to see today.
Now that I’ve done my first photo shoot of the year, when will the next one be???  Time will tell – but right now, I have no idea.

Dave L savors a beverage after the shoot

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back (in action!)

  1. Pingback: Erica and Venus | Figures of Grace

Leave a Reply

