Beyond the House of Weston

Nude, California, 2011

Well, I see that it’s been eleven days since my last blog post.  Sorry for the delay, as that’s a bit longer than I’d like to have between postings.  The fact is, most of my time devoted to photography has gone to preparing photos for an online gallery that should be featuring me as a guest artist shortly.  I’ll post the details when they’re ready.
For now, as it has been a while since my last post, I’ve decided to scan two photos to include here today.  These photos were made at the workshop I attended with Kim Weston last September at his home near Carmel, California.   This was also the house where Kim’s granddad, Edward Weston, lived.  For a long time I had wondered just where in the Big Sur area Edward Weston had lived, and it turned out that I had driven right past it many, many times on previous visits without even knowing it!
Anyway, these two photos were made right behind that house.  I was walking around looking for interesting spots in which to photograph when I saw the ladder attached to the base of the house.  I thought that it’s straight and angular forms would make a good contrast with the curvy figure of the model, Sarah.
I explained to her what I was looking for, and Sarah just did the rest.  I don’t think I could have expected anything better.
For the second photo, trying to do something different, I found a nice banana leaf and decided to use it as a prop.  Yes, it is a bit strange, but hey – what’s wrong with that???

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

