Beach Boys

Beach Boys, Nha Trang, Vietnam, 2011

I wrote last time in my brief post that I’d been wanting to post some travel pictures, so I just scanned a couple of photos from my trip to Vietnam last year just for that purpose.
These photos were made in a town that I did not visit on my first visit to Vietnam in 2006:  the seaside resort of Nha Trang on the central coast.  As would be expected from a seaside resort, it has a nice beach that’s overlooked by a promenade.  My group arrived at Nha Trang in the afternoon, so in the free time we had I decided to walk a few blocks to the promenade to see if I could get some photos there.
I think I got something good with this photo at the top.  I saw these two fellows, who I think were there to play volleyball, sitting on the edge of the promenade fronting on the beach.  I like the viewpoint of the guy in the foreground looking at me with his hair being blown by the wind, while the one in the back is a bit out of focus with his attention focused below.
I’m sure that I would have taken a few more shots of the two, but this picture was the last on the roll of film and I had to change.  By the time the new roll was loaded and ready to go, they were gone.

Still, this was not the only photo I got that I like.  The last photo that I had shot before the beach boys was this one of an older couple who seemed to be very much in love.   Sure, in Nha Trang I also saw older western men walking around with much younger Vietnamese girls, but obviously those were not the only relationships to be found there.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beach Boys

  1. dewayne says:

    very artistic portraits…………..

Leave a Reply

