Of Things Forgotten and Rediscovered

Nude, Scotland, 2004

We’ve all forgotten things.  Sometimes they are things that we want to forget.  Sometimes they are not , but they slip from the mind all the same.  This is a story of the latter.
I wanted to follow up my darkroom session in the middle of last month with another session the following week.  That did not happen thanks to the stomach virus that had me down for the count for some time.  I did finally get back printing again last weekend, making prints from two negatives:  a nude from Nevada in 2004 and a nude from Scotland the same year.
It had been a while since I had looked through the negatives from either of those photo shoots, and while going through the pages to find the particular frames of film that I wanted to print, I came across alternative images from the same set-ups, some of which are also worth printing.  What’s usually surprising, though, are to find those images from set-ups that I had completely forgotten about.
The image at the top is one such example.   It shows Alison in Scotland.  While I can remember many of the images I made of her, this one had completely eluded my memory, so I scanned it today to post here.  Perhaps one day I will take this negative into the darkroom to make a fine print of it.  I think the effort to do so will be worthwhile.
As for the two negatives that I did take into the darkroom, you can see the prints below, with Rhowena in Nevada followed by Alison again in Scotland.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

