Back in the Dark

Nude, Nevada, 2004, #6

It had been a while, but I finally did it yesterday:  I got back into the darkroom and made some prints!
The last time I had done any printing was back in September, and that was an abbreviated session to make one print that I had promised to donate to the Friends Without a Border benefit auction.  The last time that I did a full day of printing was in July.
Needless to say, it felt great to be creating art again.  Developing film is an essential part of the process of creating photographic art, but the ultimate goal is to make a beautiful print.  Of course, it’s also very gratifying to see the image as a print rather than just something on a computer screen.

Nude, Nevada, 2006, #3

The last few times that I printed I concentrated on my travel photography, printing photos from Asia and Italy.  This time, it was back to doing nudes.  I made 11 x 14 inch prints of Rhowena in Nevada in 2004, Carlotta in Nevada in 2006 and Rachel on Prince Edward Island, Canada, in 2006.
So, how long will it take me to make prints again?  Time will tell, but I’m hoping for it to be soon.  In fact, I’m planning for next week.
As always, stay tuned.

Nude, Prince Edward Island, 2006, #3

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

